Upper Katungal in Tacurong wins Lupong Tagapamayapa regional award

Share this on

For the second time in two years, Barangay Upper Katungal in Tacurong City emerged as regional winner of the annual search for outstanding Lupon under the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives and Awards (LTIA) Program-Component Cities Category.

The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) conferred the award to Upper Katungal during the awarding rites held on July 3, 2014 in Koronadal City.

Lupong Tagapamayapa Award

The Regional Awards Committee evaluated Upper Katungal based on its Lupon’s performance in 2013. Said barangay was also the regional winner in 2012.

City Mayor Lina Montilla, DILG City Director Alberto Sero, Jr., and Barangay Chairman Hernani Fermo, together with the members of the Sangguniang Barangay and Lupong Tagapamayapa of Upper Katungal received the award from DILG Regional Director Reynaldo Bungubung. Assistant Regional Director Josephine Leysa and other officers of DILG 12 were also present during the awarding ceremony.

As regional winner, Upper Katungal received a cash incentive amounting to P50, 000.00 to be utilized for projects identified by the barangay council and the Lupon.

The other regional winners included Barangay Katanggawan, General Santos City for the Highly-Urbanized Cities Category and Barangay Poblacion, Polomolok for the 1st to 3rd Class Municipalities Category.

Under the component cities category, Upper Katungal bested the other two regional finalists, Barangay General Paulino Santos of Koronadal City and Barangay Poblacion of Kidapawan City.

LTIA is program that aims to provide a system of granting benefits and incentives to the Lupons that performed well based on a set of criteria. The DILG institutionalized the program after seeing Katarungang Pambarangay (KP) as effective mechanism for indigenous mediation in resolving local disputes.

Established evaluation criteria for the awards are the following: Efficiency in Operations (35%), Effectiveness in Securing the Objectives of the KP Program (30%), and Creativity and Resourcefulness of the Lupong Tagapamayapa (35%).

The Regional Awards Committee is composed of the DILG Regional Director as Chairperson, the Regional Trial Court Representative, the Regional Public Attorney’s Office Representative, the President of Regional Liga ng mga Barangay and representative from Civil Society Organizations (CSO).

In her message, ARD Leysa said that the award received by the winning barangays is a confirmation that the Lupons performed satisfactorily during the evaluation year. Leysa also thanked the winners for putting Region 12 in the map of LTIA.

“Do not be contented of being a regional winner only”, Leysa said. “You have to aim for the national awards. Let’s not settle for second. Let’s settle for the best”.

Director Bungubung also challenged the regional winners to continue what they had started. “More importantly, leave no disputes unsettled in your respective barangays”, he said. (LGU Tacurong Information)

Scroll to top