Open post

6th Sangguniang Panlungsod of the City of Tacurong bags 2nd place in Most Outstanding Sanggunian National Awards – Component Cities category

The Sanggunian Panlungsod of the City of Tacurong headed by City Vice Mayor Joseph George L. Lechonsito, under the administration of City Mayor Lina O. Montilla, emerged as the second place among the National Finalists in the 2015 Local Legislative Award, competing in the Most Outstanding Sanggunian under the Component Cities category, held on March 8, 2016 in Iloilo Convention Center, Iloilo City.

City Vice Mayor Joseph George Lechonsito, together with SP-Members Joselito Cajandig, Charito Collado, Cirilo Flores, Ariel Ferdinand dela Cruz, Welson Ferrer, Rodrigo Jamorabon, Psyche Sucaldito, Jose Remos Segura, and some members of the staff of the SP proudly received the recognition from the PCL National Chairperson Alma Moreno, PCL National President Maybelyn dela Cruz-Fernandez and DILG Secretary Mel Senen Sarmiento for being the finalist in the recently concluded National Level-Local Legislative Award (LLA) during the Philippine Councilor’s League’s 2016 End-Term National Assembly.

According to Vice Mayor Joseph George Lechonsito, “This recognition is just a bonus to the satisfaction we experience when we are able to give help to our constituents. What is more important to us is we actually deliver the services needed by our people, “the Tacurongnons”. Yet, this award/recognition is a sentiment to the hard work and dedication to service that our office gives to the public. On behalf of the Office of the Sangguniang Panlungsod, I articulate my sincerest appreciation and profound gratitude to all the employees, our resource institutions and to our constituents for the untiring support to our office.”

The Sangguniang Panlungsod of the City of Tacurong was judged as the region’s best for three (3) consecutive terms starting 2007-2010, 2010-2013 and 2013-2016. (Joseph D. Lechonsito, Jr., SP-Tacurong)

Open post

Sangguniang Panlungsod of Tacurong Undergo Field Validation for the Regional Local Legislative Award

The Sangguniang Panlungsod of the Local Government Unit of Tacurong welcomed the Regional Awards Committee (RAC) of the Local Legislative Award on November 3, 2015 for a field validation. All the members and staff of the Sanggunian were present to welcome the assessors while City Mayor Lina O. Montilla and various heads of offices were present to give their support to the city legislative.

The RAC were composed of officers from the different regional government agencies including the DILG, DSWD, DENR, and DBM; the private sector also had a representation through the South Cotabato Chamber of Commerce and Industry. The committee evaluated the sanggunian in the following criteria: effectiveness of the legislative agenda, availability of legislative documents, efficiency of performance of the sanggunian, quality of office set-up and staff complement, legislative citations and awards, and capacity development for legislators and staff.

Mayor Lina O. Montilla, in her message during the event, was all praise for the sanggunian because of their achievements for the past two consecutive award cycles where they bagged the top prize for the Local Legislative Award on Outstanding Component City in the region. She commended and thanked their hardwork and teamwork because the outcome of which were the passing of effective ordinances and resolutions that helped improve the lives of the constituents.

On the other hand, in his welcome address, Vice Mayor Joseph George Lechonsito said, “Being acknowledged or recognized is good. Yet, for us in the Office of the Sangguninang Panlungsod, we are always striving hard to fulfill our official duties and responsibilities not just for the sake of recognition, but more importantly, that the public, especially our constituents, actually receive the goods and services that they need and other benefits that they deserve.”

The Local Legislative Award was launched by the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) in partnership with the DILG in 2006. It recognizes the exemplary performance of the sanggunians, particularly of cities and municipalities, for legislating measures that help build the foundation of meaningful local administration and development.

Given every three years, the current cycle’s evaluation covers performances by the sanggunian from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015. It is competing with Kidapawan and Koronadal cities for the award.(Yen Robles, LGU-Tacurong)

More photos here.

Scroll to top