Tacurong’s Sanggunian holds Inaugural Session

Share this on
Vice Mayor Joseph George Lechonsito got his first hold of the gavel when he presided over the inaugural session of the 6thSangguniang Panlungsod of Tacurong City on July 3, 2013.
Witnessed by a sizable crowd packed inside and outside the session hall, all members of the Sanggunian were present during the maiden session, namely: Councilors Psyche Sucaldito, Charito Collado, Cirilo Flores, Paulino Ledda, Rodrigo Jamorabon, Benjamin Fajardo Jr., Ariel Ferdinand dela Cruz, Joselito Cajandig Sr., Jose Remos Segura, and Welson Ferrer. Liga ng mga Barangay President Silvestre Llanto and Sangguniang Kabataan President Albert Gulmatico were in attendance also.
Midway into the session, the council suspended its rules to give way to the State of the City Address of Mayor Lina Montilla, who presented the major accomplishments of the local administration in the past three years and the programs the city government aims to implement within the next term of office.
Mayor Montilla said that first on the to-do list in their first month in office is the formulation of the Executive Legislative Agenda (ELA) that will serve as guide in setting the policy directions of the local government in the next three years. 
After the mayor’s speech, Vice Mayor Lechonsito delivered his response saying that the council will continue to be an effective law-making body of the city government. He also expressed the council’s support to the development agenda of the local chief executive all geared toward the development of the city.
Lechonsito also said that the mayor’s decision of delivering her SOCA before the council manifested the latter’s desire to continue working hand in hand with the Sanggunian.
The awarding of Plaques of Recognition to the outgoing members of the council followed after the vice mayor’s speech. Former Councilor Virgilio Paredes, a member of the 5th SP, was recognized together with former Vice Mayor Collado and former Councilor Lechonsito who swapped places as new members of the 6th SP.

Secretary to the Sanggunian Romel Dionela also presented welcome tokens to all members of the city council.
When session rules were restored, the council passed and approved a joint resolution expressing their thanks to the people of Tacurong for their continued support to the city officials in the past local elections.
Before the adjournment of the session, the council members agreed to set their next session on July 8 to deliberate on their internal rules and select members for the various standing committees. (Allan Freno, LGU-Tacurong City)
Scroll to top