Open post

Committee evaluates Tacurong for Local Legislation Award

                The Provincial Award Committee of the Local Legislative Award evaluated the Sangguniang Panlungsod ng Tacurong on November 8, 2012.  
                The Local Legislative Award is given to component cities and municipalities that exhibit excellent performance based on the effectiveness of local agenda and legislative tracking system, availability of legislative documents, efficiency of performance, and quality of office set-up and staff complement.
                Tacurong Sanggunian boasts of its 1,247 ordinances since 1956 to June 2012. In 2012, city councilors passed and approved 11 new ordinances on: requiring pregnant women to give birth in the city birthing home; establishment of bagsakan center; drag racing ban; institutionalization of the Iskolar ng Lungsod ng Tacurong program; prohibition of posting/nailing/hanging/pasting political and advertising materials; and budget appropriations.
                The provincial Committee lauded the unit’s performance including its efficient processes in dealing with clients and its office ergonomics.
Members of the Provincial Award Committee during their courtesy call with Mayor Montilla.
As the only component city in Sultan Kudarat (SK), Tacurong hopes to make it to the regional level and compete with Koronadal City and Kidapawan City.
                “Of course, our qualification will not only be about Tacurong being the only city in SK. I believe that our sanggunian’s performance is really worth recognizing,” said Mayor Lina Montilla.
Mayor Montilla also spoke well of the outstanding leadership of Vice Mayor Charito Collado. In 2009 and with VM Collado at the helm, the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Tacurong was recognized as Regional Local Legislative Award winner. The City represented Region XII to the national level.
The Local Legislative Award was launched in 2006 by the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) in partnership with the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) to recognize the exemplary performance of Sanggunian of component cities and municipalities in legislating measures that establish meaningful local administration and development. 
Jezereel Louise C. Billano
Scroll to top