Barangay Councilors’ League holds annual assembly

Share this on

(June 19, 2012) The Barangay Councilors’ League of the Philippines(BCLP) Tacurong City Chapter held their 3rd General Assembly at Mountain Lake Eco Resort, Lake Sebu, South Cotabato on June 5-7, 2012 with their rallying call: Transparency and Accountability..Our Best Practice.

The General Assembly tackled issues relevant in the performance of barangay kagawads’ duties and functions in their respective barangays. This is in support of the present administration’s commitment to provide the Filipinos with honest service and governance. Among the topics discussed during the orientation are are RA 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act, salient features of RA 7160 or the Local Government Code of 1991, RA 10121 or the Disaster Risk Reduction Mgt Act, and the Barangay Governance Performance Measurement System (BGPMS). The orientation also included lectures that helped participants enhance their technical writing skills.

The constitution and bylaws of the BCLP, including members’ benefits and the organization’s financial reports, were also discussed.

Resource speakers were: City Councilor Psyche Sucaldito, Chairperson on Environment and Social Services Committee; City Local Government Officer Alberto P. Sero Jr.; and retired CLGOO of Tacurong, Lennie Arzagon. Mayor Lina O. Montilla, Councilors Joseph George L. Lechonsito, Rodrigo P. Jamorabon, and Ariel Ferdinand M. dela Cruz were also in attendance to support the League. BCLP-Tacurong is headed by Ma. Angela B. Horlador. (Alberto P. Sero Jr.)  

Scroll to top